Antisociology

On leave

Posted in Uncategorized by antisociology on August 30, 2008

I got an e-mail from the graduate school today notifying me that they have approved my request for a two semester leave of absence. Apparently, I can request another two semesters as well, for four semesters in total. This is neither good news nor bad news, but it does mean that I can defer having to make a decision about permanently withdrawing from my Ph.D. for a little while longer.

If I had to make a decision today, I’d probably just withdraw. While I like research, I need to do it in an environment where I can take my ideas out and actually develop something that gets used everyday. Building things is what I like doing. My new job lets me do that. While I don’t see myself there for the rest of my working life, it’s a good start and a good experience.

I ran 11 miles Monday night. I’m pretty sure that’s the first time I’ve racked up single digits on a run in… oh, probably a year. It pretty much wiped me out. I might have been harboring a cold, though. Tuesday night I was still a little laggy and tired and the bike was not at all inspiring. Wednesday I felt worse, Thursday a little worse, and then I woke up today and just could not get out of bed. I had that woozy-weak feeling you get when you have the flu. So much for long weekends.

Leave a Reply

