Antisociology

Growing Up

Posted in Uncategorized by antisociology on August 21, 2011

I think I never really grew up. Sure, I can handle my finances and have built a career path for myself that has lots of great options. I can cook for myself and know how to take care of general apartment things. When it comes to interpersonal matters, though, I have a tough time.

I’ve been trying to keep my social calendar filled. I’ve been doing this partly as a way to force myself to learn these things and partly as a way of moving on from some unfortunate experiences that have been happening this year. Dating is tough! Between juggling work, time with friends, and possible dates… I’m exhausted! I think my limit is two dates per week MAX.

I have a social energy quota and it gets depleted pretty quickly.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Susan said, on August 22, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Do what works for you!!! This life is too short to be stressed by filling up your calendar with social activities. Some of us like a little more quiet time and others of us like people around all the time. If you are happy with what you are doing, that is the easier way to meet the right person. (promise).

    I keep thinking that you marry two things together – you love bike riding. I know here in Austin there are lots of group bike ride where you can meet new people and have fun. Would something like that work out in NY?

  2. antisociology said, on August 23, 2011 at 12:42 am

    To be honest, I’m a little down on going to activities to meet dates. You end up building circles of friends, and it just makes dating that much harder… especially when things fall apart. Trust me, I know all about it.

    I think the trick for me is finding a nice balance between meeting (and dating!) lots of new people and having enough time for myself. I do need to go on more dates, though. It’s a big thing because I’ve never been super comfortable around people and I feel like I just need that experience.


Leave a Reply

