Antisociology

Bike Commuting 2012

Posted in Uncategorized by antisociology on March 11, 2012

I started commuting by bike in early 2009. After three years, I’ve tried a few different bike styles. To date:

  • Single speed with drop bars and panniers
  • Fixed gear with swept back bars and panniers
  • Folding 3 speed (the Brompton!)

The Brompton was a bit of retail therapy, but I did enjoy commuting on it for the past year. The 3 speed hub is great and the fold is a neat conversation starter and solves a lot of problems storing the bike when at work. What didn’t work so well with the Brompton was trips that took me from one part of town to another.

As small as the Brompton folds, it doesn’t go everywhere in NYC and it can be a pain in the butt to move around crowded spaces. I ended up locking up the bike outdoors a lot — a process that’s easy but somewhat defeats the purpose.

I think I’ll keep the Brompton for now and perhaps try bringing it on some trips to Boston or Washington DC, but I’m going to go back to riding the Raleigh. I’ve been riding it a bit more lately and have forgotten how fun it is. I’ll be adding a generator hub so that I always have lights, as well as a two speed kick shift hub so that I have a low gear for the hills. 

Leave a Reply

